Galeton Area School District Cell Phone Policy (2026)
Galeton Area School District in Potter County enrolled 289 students in 2024-25 according to federal data. It amended its device policy for 2026-27.
- Location
- Galeton, Pennsylvania
- Potter County
- Enrollment
- About 289 students
- Galeton area
Galeton Area School District in Potter County enrolled 289 students in 2024-25 according to federal data. It amended its device policy for 2026-27.
Galeton Area phone rules today
The Potter Leader-Enterprise headline "GASD talks rural challenges, amends cell phone policy" reports a change to Policy 237. According to a search summary of that story, the amendment makes the rule bell to bell for 2026-27, replacing the earlier allowance for phone use between classes and at lunch. The story itself could not be read.
What Act 117 requires of Galeton Area by 2027-28
Gov. Josh Shapiro approved SB 1014 on October 26, 2026. It is Act 117 of 2026, and it took effect that day. The text is Printer's No. 1697 on palegis.us. Every school entity must adopt a bell-to-bell policy by the start of the 2027-28 school year.
| Act 117 requires | Galeton Area today | What changes by 2027-28 |
|---|---|---|
| No student use for the whole school day, including homeroom, lunch, recess and passing time | Bell to bell (2026-27) | Aligned with the whole-day rule if confirmed. |
| The board decides how possession is restricted (taking phones is not required) | Not stated | State the possession method. |
| Required exceptions: documented medical need of the student or an immediate family member, IEP or 504, English learner translation, limited teacher-approved instructional use | Not stated | Add medical, IEP/504 and English learner translation. |
| Optional: a principal may approve another exception for up to one school day, with notice to the superintendent within 5 days after | Not stated | Teacher use must meet Act 117's three conditions; other exceptions capped at one day. |
| Written notice each year and on enrollment: a staffed way to reach your child, and how to sign up for emergency notifications | Not stated | Written notice each year and on enrollment of a staffed contact method and emergency sign-up. |
| Tell families, teachers and students about the policy each year; verify to PDE within 5 business days that it is posted online | Policy 237 amended (2026) | Board policy posted, announced each year and verified to PDE. |
Where LockedIn fits
Galeton moved lunch and passing time under its rule. LockedIn locks students' own phones from an admin dashboard with nothing to collect, so the change needs no new storage.
Act 117 has no general student emergency-use exception. The closest tool is the optional principal exception, which is capped at one school day and reported to the superintendent within five days afterward. LockedIn's Emergency Mode unlocks every phone on campus at once, so districts should have counsel review how that fits their emergency procedures and Act 117's exception rules.
Private and independent schools in Galeton
Act 117's definition of "school entity" includes private schools, approved private schools and nonpublic schools, so Galeton's private, independent and parochial schools need their own bell-to-bell policy by 2027-28. For those schools, the governing body plays the role the superintendent plays in a district, including receiving notice of any principal-approved exception.
Draft a policy that tracks Act 117's required exceptions and family notices with our policy generator.
Frequently asked questions
Is Galeton bell to bell?
Reports say yes, starting in 2026-27.
Which policy covers phones at Galeton?
Policy 237.