Skip to content

Clairton City School District Cell Phone Policy (2026)

Clairton City School District in Allegheny County enrolled 782 students in 2024-25 according to federal data. It collects phones at the door.

Location
Clairton, Pennsylvania
Allegheny County
Enrollment
About 782 students
Clairton area
District rule
District phone policy
Sources
State rule
Act 117 of 2026, signed Oct. 26
Pennsylvania law guide

Clairton City School District in Allegheny County enrolled 782 students in 2024-25 according to federal data. It collects phones at the door.

Clairton phone rules today

The 2025-26 Middle/High School handbook says: "Middle and High School students are not permitted to bring electronic devices into the building. Staff members will collect all electronic devices as the Middle and High School students enter the building." Devices come back at the end of the day. A first violation brings in security staff, and the principal logs the phone in the main office until dismissal; a second means the phone goes back only to a parent. A student who refuses to hand over a phone has a parent called.

What Act 117 requires of Clairton by 2027-28

Gov. Josh Shapiro approved SB 1014 on October 26, 2026. It is Act 117 of 2026, and it took effect that day. The text is Printer's No. 1697 on palegis.us. Every school entity must adopt a bell-to-bell policy by the start of the 2027-28 school year.

Act 117 requiresClairton todayWhat changes by 2027-28
No student use for the whole school day, including homeroom, lunch, recess and passing timeEntry to end of dayAligned with the whole-day rule.
The board decides how possession is restricted (taking phones is not required)Collected by staff at entryAligned: Act 117 lets boards decide possession.
Required exceptions: documented medical need of the student or an immediate family member, IEP or 504, English learner translation, limited teacher-approved instructional useNot statedAdd medical, IEP/504 and English learner translation.
Optional: a principal may approve another exception for up to one school day, with notice to the superintendent within 5 days afterNot statedTeacher use must meet Act 117's three conditions; other exceptions capped at one day.
Written notice each year and on enrollment: a staffed way to reach your child, and how to sign up for emergency notificationsNot statedWritten notice each year and on enrollment of a staffed contact method and emergency sign-up.
Tell families, teachers and students about the policy each year; verify to PDE within 5 business days that it is posted onlineHandbook (2025-26)Board policy posted, announced each year and verified to PDE.

Where LockedIn fits

Clairton collects and returns every phone by hand each day. LockedIn locks students' own phones from an admin dashboard with nothing to collect, so the entry line and the dismissal handback go away, and Emergency Mode unlocks every phone on campus at once, subject to counsel review.

Act 117 has no general student emergency-use exception. The closest tool is the optional principal exception, which is capped at one school day and reported to the superintendent within five days afterward. LockedIn's Emergency Mode unlocks every phone on campus at once, so districts should have counsel review how that fits their emergency procedures and Act 117's exception rules.

Private and independent schools in Clairton

Act 117's definition of "school entity" includes private schools, approved private schools and nonpublic schools, so Clairton's private, independent and parochial schools need their own bell-to-bell policy by 2027-28. For those schools, the governing body plays the role the superintendent plays in a district, including receiving notice of any principal-approved exception.

Draft a policy that tracks Act 117's required exceptions and family notices with our policy generator.

Frequently asked questions

Can Clairton students bring phones into school?

They hand them to staff at the entrance.

When do Clairton students get phones back?

At the end of the school day.