Yondr Pouch Cost in 2026: The Price Sheet, Unlocking Bases, and What Schools Paid
Yondr pouches cost about $25–$30 per student. Yondr’s public price sheet on a Texas purchasing co-op lists each pouch at $30, or $27 for co-op members, with unlocking bases included in Year 1. Its sample 500-student school pays $15,525 in the first year, or $31.05 per student, before shipping.
ComparisonsBy Brian Ohebshalom and Noah Fakheri, LockedIn’s co-founders
12 min read
Disclosure: LockedIn makes one of the products compared here. We describe each one as fairly as we can; if something about another product is wrong, email hello@lockedinapp.co and we’ll fix it.
Yondr pouches cost roughly $25–$30 per student. Yondr doesn’t post prices on its website, but the price sheet it filed with a Texas purchasing cooperative is public: $30 per pouch at list, $27 for co-op members, with unlocking bases and accessories included in the first year. For a 500-student school that sheet comes to $15,525 in Year 1, or $31.05 per student, before shipping.
The short answer (checked October 12, 2026)
- • One pouch: $30 list, $27 on the ESC Region 13 co-op (Yondr price sheet, Oct. 6, 2025).
- • Per student, Year 1: $31.05 on the sheet’s 500-student sample, which buys 575 pouches (15% spares) and gets bases, Velcro pouches, totes and a hamper included.
- • What Yondr’s CEO says: about $30 per student, covering the pouch, training and support to start the program (NBC News, Sept. 12, 2025).
- • Unlocking base: $100 list each, one per 60 pouches, included in the Year-1 package.
- • What districts paid: from about $33,000 for Walla Walla’s middle schools to $5.2 million at Los Angeles Unified in a single school year (table below).
Want your own number? Use the 5-year pouch cost calculator (it also appears below this article), then read on for where each figure comes from.
Yondr’s Public Price Sheet, Line by Line
Yondr holds a contract with the Education Service Center Region 13 purchasing cooperative in Texas (contract 2026-01, Electronic Device Storage Systems, renewed through August 31, 2027). The price sheet Yondr filed prices a sample school of 500 students. Every school building gets Yondr’s Year-1 “Education Package,” which is why most of the hardware shows as included:
| Item | Quantity (500 students) | List price | Co-op price | Year-1 cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lockable pouch with ID holder | 500 (one per student) | $30.00 | $27.00 (10% off) | $13,500 |
| Spare (“buffer”) pouches | 75 (about 15% of enrollment) | $30.00 | $27.00 | $2,025 |
| Velcro pouch for medical and other quick-access needs | 8 (1.5% of enrollment) | $18.00 | Included | $0 |
| Magnetic unlocking base (round wall-mount, handheld or lockbox) | 9 (one per 60 pouches) | $100 each | Included | $0 |
| Distribution totes | 3 | $35 each | Included | $0 |
| Collection hamper | 1 | $65 | Included | $0 |
| On-site support day (optional) | As needed | $2,250 per day | $2,250 | Not in total |
| Total, Year 1 | List value $18,464 | $15,525 ($31.05 per student) |
Three things to know before you use these numbers:
- • It is one co-op’s sample, not a national price list. Prices on other contracts, or in a direct quote, can differ.
- • It prices Year 1 only. The sheet lists no Year-2 fees, renewal terms or replacement policy. Ask Yondr for those in writing.
- • The lockbox is listed two ways. The table counts it as one of the included base options, but the product notes describe the lockbox as not included and available for purchase. Confirm which bases your package covers.
Texas districts can also buy Yondr through BuyBoard, another purchasing cooperative. BuyBoard’s Yondr pricing isn’t posted publicly, but Beaumont ISD’s 2025 purchase included $43,417.50 in BuyBoard discounts (KABB).
How Much Yondr Pouches Cost for a Whole School
The sheet only prices a 500-student building. If Yondr applied the same structure to a larger school, the Year-1 math would look like this. This is our arithmetic on Yondr’s published ratios, not a Yondr quote:
| Enrollment | Pouches incl. 15% spares | Unlocking bases (60:1) | Year 1 at $27 co-op | Year 1 at $30 list |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 500 students | 575 | 9 | $15,525 | $17,250 |
| 1,000 students | 1,150 | 17 | $31,050 | $34,500 |
| 2,000 students | 2,300 | 34 | $62,100 | $69,000 |
What Districts Actually Paid for Yondr Pouches
Public records and local reporting show what real districts spent. Figures are quoted as each source reported them; where a per-pouch price can be read straight off the source, we show it.
| District | When | Amount | What it covered | Per pouch | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Los Angeles Unified (CA) | 2023–24 school year | $5.2 million | Pouch program spending for the year | Not reported | NBC News |
| Houston (TX) | Reported 2025 | $800,000 | Allocated for the pouch program | Not reported | NBC News |
| Cincinnati Public Schools (OH) | Reported 2025 | $500,000 | Pouches for grades 7–12 | Not reported | CBS News |
| New Haven Public Schools (CT) | Approved Jan. 2025 | $370,936.81 | 14,081 pouches: one per middle and high school student plus 15% backup | $25.50 plus shipping | New Haven Independent |
| Chicago Public Schools (IL) | Since 2023 | $289,570 | Pouch purchases | Not reported | NBC News |
| Beaumont ISD (TX) | Approved June 24, 2025 | $249,131.25 | More than 8,100 pouches plus unlocking equipment, training and on-site support, grades 6–12 | Under $31, all-in | KABB |
| Peoria Public Schools (IL) | Approved June 2024 | Almost $246,000 | Up to 9,200 pouches for middle and high schools (WCBU reported up to 9,000) | About $27 at the full quantity | 25 News |
| Abilene ISD (TX) | Reported by KTAB | $125,000 | Pouches for high school students | Not reported | KTAB |
| Columbus County Schools (NC) | Approved June 2025 | $59,000 | The Yondr pouch package for the county’s high schools | Not reported | WECT |
| Walla Walla Public Schools (WA) | 2024 | About $33,000 | Around 1,100 pouches for middle schools | $30 | OPB |
For scale: before the recent surge, districts in 41 states had spent $2.5 million on Yondr pouches over eight years, according to GovSpend data reported by NBC News in December 2023. Yondr declined to tell NBC the value of its public school contracts in 2025.
Can You Buy a Single Yondr Pouch?
Not from Yondr’s website. Yondr’s site lists no prices and routes schools to its team, and school programs are sold by quote or through purchasing co-ops like ESC Region 13, where the list price is $30 per pouch. When a student loses or breaks a pouch, the school usually charges a replacement fee:
- • Peoria Public Schools (IL): $30 to replace a destroyed or lost pouch (WCBU).
- • Abilene ISD (TX): one pouch free at the start of the year, $32 to replace a lost one (KTAB).
- • Lawton Public Schools (OK): families of students in grades 6–12 pay $35 for the pouch plus $25 for device insurance in 2026–27 (KOKH).
Unlocking Bases and Magnets: What They Cost
On the co-op sheet, each magnetic unlocking base lists at $100, in three styles: a round base that mounts on a table or wall, a handheld magnet for teachers and high-traffic areas, and a wall-mounted lockbox. Yondr allots one base per 60 pouches and includes them in the Year-1 package, so a 500-student school gets nine.
Yondr doesn’t sell its magnets separately on the sheet. Its maintenance guide warns that magnets Yondr didn’t issue can damage both the pouch’s lock and the phone inside it, and notes that the pouch itself contains no magnet; the lock is a spring mechanism. For comparison, CellockED, another pouch maker on the same co-op, lists round magnetic detachers at $45 each for up to 50, $35 for 51–100 and $30 above 100 (CellockED price list, Sept. 2, 2025).
Year 2 and the Costs That Aren’t on the Sheet
- • Replacement pouches. The sheet budgets 15% spares in Year 1 but doesn’t say what replacements cost after that. At the co-op price, every lost or broken pouch is $27 unless families pay the fee.
- • New students. Each incoming class needs pouches. Ask whether that is priced at $27, list, or something else.
- • Staff time. Someone runs the unlocking stations at dismissal, checks that phones go into pouches, and handles forgotten or broken ones. No public source puts a reliable number on this, so the calculator below lets you enter your own.
- • Support after Year 1. The Year-1 package includes a Partner Success Manager; on-site days are $2,250 each. Ask what support costs in later years.
The calculator below is a model, not data. Its starting assumptions are ours: 20% of pouches replaced each year, and 40 minutes a day of handling for four staff per 1,000 students at $26 an hour. With those defaults, a 1,000-student school comes to $116,400 over five years: $30,000 for pouches, $24,000 for replacements and $62,400 of staff time. Replace each input with your own figures; the replacement rate and staff time move the total the most.
Is There a Cheaper Alternative to Yondr?
It depends on what you count. A few honest comparisons, using only published prices:
- • Other pouches. CellockED’s signal-shielding pouch lists at $25 each for orders under 4,000 and falls to $18 above 50,000 on the same Texas co-op. You still need detachers and spares.
- • Phone-lock apps. There are no pouches to replace or bases to install, but you pay a subscription every year. One app maker, Opal, told the Los Angeles Times its school plans start at $20 per student per year.
- • LockedIn (our product). LockedIn is quoted per school or per district, based on enrollment and the number of campuses, so we don’t publish a per-student price to set against Yondr’s $27–$30. See how LockedIn pricing works. Qualifying Title I schools can apply for subsidized or fully covered access.
- • “Off and away” rules. Free to buy, but a 2026 USC survey found that more than half of teens at schools that restrict phones in class don’t follow the rules (details in our enforcement guide).
The fair comparison is a five-year total for your enrollment: get a written quote from each vendor, then model the pouch side in the cost calculator. For a feature-by-feature view, read Yondr vs. LockedIn, and for every pouch type and vendor price we could find, see our school phone pouch buyer’s guide.
Is Yondr Worth the Cost?
The best evidence so far is mixed. The largest U.S. study of pouches, an NBER working paper using Yondr’s own data on schools that adopted them, found that pouches substantially reduced phone use during the school day. It also found average effects on test scores close to zero, a rise in discipline incidents in the first year that faded, and a dip in student well-being that recovered and turned positive in later years.
Some schools have decided the cost isn’t worth it. Sutter Middle School in Folsom, California, dropped pouches after one year (NBC News), and Beaumont ISD in Texas stopped requiring them in 2026, a year after its $249,131 purchase (KABB). Others keep them: CBS News counts at least 2.5 million U.S. students using Yondr pouches.
Pouches fit best when a school wants phones physically out of reach, works with any phone, and has staff to run unlocking at dismissal. They fit less well when you need a record of who complied, or when replacements and decoy phones are already eating into the budget. The problems schools report are covered in Yondr pouch problems.
How to Pay for It
Looking for money to pay for a phone-free program, pouches or software? Our funding guide covers federal Title funds and state grant programs.
Sources
- ESC Region 13, Yondr Product Pricing - Region 13 ESC (PDF) (Oct. 6, 2025)
- ESC Region 13, Yondr, Inc. cooperative contract 2026-01, Electronic Device Storage Systems (renewed through Aug. 31, 2027)
- ESC Region 13, CellockED Price List, New School Hero (PDF) (Sept. 2, 2025)
- NBC News, Schools spend millions on pouches to keep phones out of students’ hands (Sept. 12, 2025)
- CBS News, Schools across U.S. turn to a locked magnetic pouch as a cellphone ban solution. Here’s what to know (Sept. 6, 2025)
- NBC News, Schools in 41 states have spent millions on pouches to lock up kids’ phones (Dec. 26, 2023)
- New Haven Independent, District-Wide Yondr Pouches Approved (Jan. 10, 2025)
- KABB / Fox San Antonio, Waste Watch: Beaumont ISD spent $250,000 to lock up student phones, now reversing course (July 27, 2026)
- 25 News (WEEK), PPS takes step toward phone-free schools at cost of almost $250K (June 25, 2024)
- WCBU Peoria Public Radio, PPS students’ phones are heading for locked pouches this school year (June 25, 2024)
- KTAB / BigCountryHomepage, Abilene ISD approves $125,000 purchase of Yondr pouches for new phone policy
- WECT, Columbus County school board approves implementing YONDR pouches & vape detector system (June 9, 2025)
- OPB / Northwest Public Broadcasting, Walla Walla locks down cellphone use in its middle schools (Sept. 6, 2024)
- KOKH / OKCFox, Lawton Public Schools returned $50,000 grant to implement cell phone ban (Aug. 14, 2026)
- Yondr, Yondr Maintenance Guide (PDF, distributed by Fowlerville Community Schools)
- Yondr, overyondr.com
- National Bureau of Economic Research, The Effects of School Phone Bans: National Evidence from Lockable Pouches (Working Paper 35132, Allcott, Baron, Dee, Duckworth, Gentzkow and Jacob) (April 2026, revised Sept. 2026)
- Los Angeles Times via Governing, How One L.A. School Is Enforcing Phone Limits Without Taking Phones Away (Jan. 2, 2026)
Researched and written by the LockedIn team (co-founders Brian Ohebshalom and Noah Fakheri). Sources checked October 12, 2026. We make LockedIn, a phone-lock app that competes with pouches; the prices above are Yondr’s and the districts’, not ours. Spot an error? Email hello@lockedinapp.co.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Yondr pouch cost?
Yondr’s price sheet on the Texas ESC Region 13 purchasing cooperative (dated October 6, 2025) lists its standard lockable pouch at $30, or $27 for co-op members. Yondr’s CEO told NBC News in September 2025 that a program costs about $30 per student, including the pouch, training and support to start up. Prices on other contracts or in a direct quote can differ.
How much do Yondr pouches cost for a whole school?
On the co-op sheet’s sample, a 500-student school buys 575 pouches (one per student plus 15% spares) for $15,525 in Year 1, or $31.05 per student, before shipping. Unlocking bases, Velcro medical pouches, totes and a hamper are included. At the same structure a 1,000-student school would pay about $31,050. Districts have reported spending from about $33,000 for Walla Walla’s middle schools to $5.2 million in one year at Los Angeles Unified.
How much does a Yondr magnet or unlocking base cost?
Each magnetic unlocking base lists at $100 on the co-op sheet (round, handheld or lockbox) and is included in the Year-1 package at one base per 60 pouches. The sheet lists the lockbox as included in its table but as available for purchase in its product notes, so confirm with Yondr. Yondr says magnets it didn’t issue can damage the lock and the phone inside.
Can you buy just one Yondr pouch?
Yondr’s website doesn’t sell pouches or list prices; schools buy through a quote or a purchasing co-op, where the list price is $30. If a student loses or breaks a pouch, schools usually charge a replacement fee: $30 in Peoria Public Schools and $32 at Abilene ISD, according to local reporting.
Do schools pay for Yondr pouches every year?
The public price sheet prices Year 1 only and lists no Year-2 fees. Schools buy the pouches, then replace lost and broken ones and buy pouches for new students. Ask Yondr in writing what replacements, new students and support cost after the first year.
Is LockedIn cheaper than Yondr?
It depends on your enrollment and what you count. LockedIn is quoted per school or per district based on enrollment and number of campuses, so there is no public per-student price to compare with Yondr’s $27–$30. LockedIn has no pouches to replace or bases to buy, but it is a yearly subscription. Get a written quote and compare five-year totals, including staff time, in the cost calculator.
Topics: Yondr pouch cost, Yondr pouch price, Yondr price sheet, Yondr unlocking base cost, Yondr cost per student